279 - Honeycomb Caverns Rules

15 games later I'm still enjoying it.

Honeycomb Cavern
A Roll & Write game by Alexander Shen

STORY
Sadie Cat, our adventure loving dog with a cat's tail, has fallen into a cavern full of treasure! The only problem is that each step she takes breaks the tile beneath her. To make matters worse, giant fire-breathing statues force her to move one way or another! Can Sadie Cat escape this perilous treasure room with bounty galore or will she stumble and fall into the abyss below?

HOW TO PLAY
1. The player starts at the center hexagon
2. The player rolls three 6-sided dice (3d6)
3. Assign 1d6 for the direction. Take the difference of the other 2d6 for the distance to move. You must move the direction and full distance.
4. Draw a line from the starting hexagon to the end hexagon. Fill in the hexagon where the player lands.
5. A player may NOT move over a previously drawn line or previously filled in hexagon.
6. A player may NOT end their movement on a previously drawn line or previously filled in hexagon.
7. Instead of rolling or using the results of a die roll, a player may jump if any are available.
8. If a player reaches any exit hexagon on the rim or beyond, the game is over. Sadie Cat has successfully escaped Honeycomb Cavern. Tally the score.
9. If a player does not have a legal move, the player falls into the cavern and the game is over. The player scores 0 points.

SCORING
Sum up all filled in hexagons. That sum is your total score.

JUMP
Sadie Cat is given the ability to jump three times. Move the player two hexagon spaces away in a straight line. A player MAY move over a previously drawn line or previously filled in hexagon. A player may NOT end the jump on a previously drawn line or previously filled in hexagon.

FAQ
Can I land on the starting hexagon at a later point?
No. The starting hexagon should be considered a filled in hexagon with the value of 0.

Can I use my jump ability after I see the results of a roll?
Yes. If using the jump ability after seeing the results of a roll, discard the results of the roll.

Can I use my jump ability multiple times in a row?
Yes.

What happens if I roll two or more of the same number?
If the the assigned for distance are the same, then the difference is 0 and thus the player moves 0 hexagons. This technically means they fall into the hole created beneath them and the game is over. Do not tally the score. If you have any jumps available, this would be the time to use it.